Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lake Anna Bait Kill

Default Lake Anna Bait Kill

I asked Chris at CC BASSN why everyone wants an Anna bait kill so bad, but I really didn't grasp his answer well. Sorry Chris. So why does everyone want this when it was an awesome year for fishing and I have seen so many big bags on Anna and lots of Big Bass too. My striper season has started off with such a huge success this year and I have provided a couple of meals for our area's needy so far. Much of my success has come from J1M his insight and coaching he gave me last year. So why a bait kill???? With everyone else success too would that hurt prospects and cause the bass to become dormant or do I just not understand how much bait is here. I just don't fully understand. Does less forage mean bigger bags of bass. I have been fishing Anna for many years (mainly striper) and when we have had cold and lake was frozen, it was a one fish a day Anna. The last 3 or 4 years have not had cold spells like the past.

??? Who's asking for/wanting a bait kill?
    Wishin' I was fishin'...
    www.lds.org

When there is so much bait around the fish dont need to bite at your lure because they are so full of eating bait fish. One reason I fish where there is little to no bait around.
    Crank That Jank!

Last year.....there was NO cold weather to kill off baitfish like it normally does. This provided for an enormous amount of bait this year. You will notice a lot and I mean a lot of bait starting to push back into the creeks soon. This gives the fish a very easy meal and of course, on the flip side, they could care less about our artificial baits. Have ya noticed the sacks at weighin this year are down from last year? Let's hope for a hard freeze this winter at some point....or next year we may have to fish the river year round....hahaha.
    2013 Frog Only Tournament Winner
    2010 Tie for VA-Outdoors Angler of the Year
    2009 Caroline County Rotary Club Tournament Winner