Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I love fishing the winter.

Default I love fishing the winter.

I love fishing in the winter. I've been doing it for the past 20 years. I catch more big bass over winter than any other time of the year. The only exception to this is the spawn.
    I'm not implying I catch them every time I go. Some days it's a real grind and have to work hard for one bite the whole day. Then there are days when everything in the lake is biting and everything is above average in size.
    I've launched my boat in air temps as cold as 11 degrees and the high barely reaches 37 degrees. I've fished in cold rain, sleet and
    snow and thought it fun to do so. Now that I'm older, I'm also a little wiser, and not as tough. Lately I plan my trips on a day when the forecasted high will be at least 45 degrees and wait until morning temps get above 35 degrees before I launch. Water temps range from as cold as 38 degrees, but normally average in the low to mid 40 degree range.
    There are hundreds of easily accessible articles out there about winter time bass fishing. It's my intention with this one to teach you something that you haven't heard of yet, or that yoiu may not know.
    Beyond popular belief, a winter time bass will hit just as hard, and fight you as hard when water temps are 38 degrees as it will when water temps are 80 degrees. A bass's metabolism regulates the rate of food digestion only: it does not limit a bass's ability for sudden bursts of energy; in the coldest of water a bass is fully capable of moving fast when it needs to. What's important to note about metabolism, is this; when water temps are below 50 degrees it may take five to seven days or longer for a bass to digest a bluegill the size of your hand. What this means to us is there aren't as many bass feeding every day as there are in summer. The good news is, winter has a way of concentrating numbers of bass in small areas. When you find one, there's normally a lot more there.