Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fishing Hot Spots or Navionics for VA lakes/Potomac River?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Massaponax
    Posts
    103

    Default Fishing Hot Spots or Navionics for VA lakes/Potomac River?

    Guys:

    I have an older Lowrance LMS 480 and it just has the base map in it. I want to get a new card to show some topo detail, but I am undecided on the Fishing Hot Spots card or the Navionics one. I am limited to a 1 gig card, so that does rule out some of the Navionics chips.

    Do any of them show the Potomac?

    Thanks for the help.

    Jesse
    Thanks,
    Jesse

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I don't know the answer - but I just got a Humminbird and figured on replacing my current GPS (with downloaded NOAA raster charts). Found out the hard way that the sales pitch on the website (showing bathymetry) is lousy advertising. Potomac has no navigation info at all from what I can tell. If you found an answer, I'd like to know. According to the Navionics FISH-E information that I can find - it doesn't include rivers... This really blows after spending $1,500!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bridgewater, VA
    Posts
    692

    Default

    My hot spots doesn't have the Potomac but it is a 2008 card

    We are told that we shouldn't judge all Muslims by the actions of an extreme few. Why can't we offer millions of law-abiding American gun owners the same consideration?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Dale City
    Posts
    438

    Default

    i have the same LMS-480 and got the Navionics Premium.

    It does have the potomac on it.
    2010 VAO March Madness Overall Winner
    2010 VAO Dog Days Duel Overall Winner



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,132

    Default

    My navionics which is older has the potomac on it.
    VA Outdoors Tournament Director



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Penn Laird VA
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    I have the '07 Navionics hot maps premium and it has the Potomac, but not the James, I was disappointed in that. It even has Lake Orange, but not the James, go figure.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gainesville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,217

    Default

    My navionics ('07) has the potomac - or more than the base map in the GPS. I thought I read somewhere that there is a specific chip that is designed for tidal bodies of water that offer much more detail. My chip serves me much better on lakes than the river - although things like marina's bouy's etc do show up.....http://www.navionics.com/Charts_Classic.asp
    Ranger Z520C Mercury XPS 250

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    skeezletown
    Posts
    1,917

    Default

    09 or 10 premium chip navionics has the potomac..
    </div>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spotsylvania
    Posts
    64

    Default

    When I got mine two years ago "Hot Spots Elite" did not cover tidal water, so I had to get the Navionics chip too. A bit of a pain to have to swap chips between the lakes and the rivers, but I am happy with the detail. FYI, Navionics is not exactly plug and play. I had to play with the settings to get the best detail. It covers a lot of areas - so you have to select the best one for the area you fish, and then you have to select whether you want roads, marinas, county boarders, etc. It took me a littly playing to get it the way I wanted. Good Luck.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    skeezletown
    Posts
    1,917

    Default

    kickerfish is correct, but with the newer units, at least the hds5's, you dont have to pic the area's for better detail, it loads them all... I called navionics and chatted with them about this.....
    </div>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •